- Why There Is No Published Passing Score
- What "Passing" Means for the PRP
- Format Details That Shape How You Are Judged
- The Eight Domains Examiners Assess
- Do Not Borrow Numbers From the RP Exam
- Eligibility, Fees and Registration Mechanics
- The Schedule and Fee Discrepancy to Watch
- Preparing for a Competency-Based Outcome
- After You Pass: Renewal and Good Standing
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The National Association of Parliamentarians does not publish a numerical PRP cut score in the sources checked.
- Passing is based on demonstrated competency across a two-day meeting simulation, not a percentage correct.
- Do not apply the RP exam's 100-question, 80% structure to the PRP; it is a different credential.
- The current main-page fee is USD 600, and registration must close at least 75 days before the exam.
Why There Is No Published Passing Score
Candidates searching for the "passing score" for the Professional Registered Parliamentarian credential usually expect a number: a percentage, a scaled score, or a minimum count of correct answers. For the PRP, that number is not disclosed in the public materials from the National Association of Parliamentarians (NAP) that were reviewed for this article. The Commission on Credentialing's published criteria describe what the assessment covers and how it is run, but they do not state a numerical cut score, a fixed question count, or a public pass rate.
That absence is itself the most important fact about the PRP passing standard. Rather than a score you accumulate across a multiple-choice test, the PRP Credentialing Exam (PRPCE) is a performance-based meeting simulation. Examiners observe whether you can do the work of a professional parliamentarian, and the outcome depends on demonstrated competency. If you want a deeper look at how candidates experience that format, see our guide on how hard the PRP exam is, and for what is and is not known about outcomes, see the PRP pass rate discussion.
What "Passing" Means for the PRP
Because the PRP is assessed through observed performance, "passing" means that examiners conclude you have shown the competencies the credential is meant to certify. Those competencies are organized into eight domains, which are covered below. In practical terms, you are being asked to show that you can prepare for a meeting, advise a presiding officer, interpret governing documents, teach others, and handle the professional side of parliamentary work, all without leaning on the book for routine matters.
Competency, not accumulation
In a scored test, a weak performance in one area can be offset by a strong performance in another. In a competency-based simulation, examiners are forming a judgment about whether your overall performance meets the professional standard. The sources do not describe a point-weighting scheme, and no domain weights are published, so you should not assume that any one domain can be sacrificed. The safest assumption is that every domain on the official list is fair game.
Follow-up work is possible but not guaranteed
One detail in the credentialing criteria deserves careful reading: examiners may request follow-up work, but they are not obligated to offer it before reaching an unsuccessful outcome. Candidates should therefore not plan around a second chance within the same assessment. Aim to perform at the credential standard during the two days themselves, and treat any request for additional work as a bonus, not a safety net.
Format Details That Shape How You Are Judged
The format tells you a great deal about what the passing standard must look like, even without a published number. The assessment is a two-day meeting simulation, held in person or virtually, with no more than six candidates in a simulation. The components named in NAP's criteria include:
- Advance review of governing documents before the simulation begins.
- Preparation of a meeting script and parliamentary opinions.
- A 30-minute teaching presentation.
- Examiner questions on your work and reasoning.
- Additional drafting tasks.
- Rotating roles as presiding officer and as parliamentarian.
Each of these produces observable evidence. Your script shows how you structure a meeting. Your opinions show how you reason from governing documents and Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised, 12th edition. Your presentation shows teaching skill. The rotating roles show whether you can both lead and advise. A passing outcome is the examiners' overall conclusion drawn from all of that evidence.
Prepared scripts versus procedural fluency
Prepared scripts may be permitted, but routine procedural fluency without consulting RONR is expected. This is not unrestricted open-book access. The practical implication is that you should know the common motions, their precedence, and their typical handling cold, while saving your preparation effort for the script, the opinions, and the teaching material that you can prepare in advance. Our PRP study guide breaks down how to divide your time between memorized fluency and prepared material.
The Eight Domains Examiners Assess
NAP's Criteria for Credentialing (revised April 22, 2026) lists eight official competency and assessment-objective domains. No percentage weights are published, and no domain is identified as the highest-weighted. The document also organizes detailed content into seven content areas, but those are a separate organizing scheme and should not be conflated with the eight domains. For a fuller walkthrough, see our complete guide to the PRP exam domains.
Domain 1: Motions and Meeting-Related Procedures
The core of live procedural fluency, and the area where you are expected to work without paging through RONR.
- Handling main, subsidiary, privileged, and incidental motions correctly
- Recognizing precedence and what is in order at any moment
- Guiding a presiding officer through a motion in real time
Domain 2: Governing Documents
Reading and applying bylaws, special rules of order, and related documents, which candidates review in advance of the simulation.
- Interpreting bylaw language accurately
- Understanding how governing documents interact with RONR
- Writing sound parliamentary opinions grounded in the documents
Domain 3: Serving as Parliamentarian in Meetings and Conventions
The on-the-ground role: advising discreetly, anticipating problems, and supporting the chair.
- Preparing and using a meeting script
- Advising the presiding officer during live business
- Understanding the added demands of conventions
Domain 4: Teaching
Demonstrated through the 30-minute teaching presentation and examiner follow-up questions.
- Structuring a clear, instructive session
- Explaining procedure to non-experts
- Answering examiner questions about your teaching choices
Domain 5: Business and Ethics
The professional practice side of working as a parliamentarian.
- Professional conduct and client relationships
- Ethical obligations when advising an organization
Domain 6: Governance
How organizations are structured and run, and where parliamentary procedure fits within that.
- Roles and responsibilities of officers, boards, and members
- How governance structure affects procedural advice
Domain 7: Consulting Skills
Advising clients and organizations beyond the meeting room.
- Responding to requests for parliamentary opinions
- Communicating recommendations clearly and appropriately
Domain 8: Nominations, Elections, and Voting
A technically demanding area where small procedural errors can have outsized consequences.
- Conducting nominations and elections correctly
- Handling voting methods and required vote thresholds
Do Not Borrow Numbers From the RP Exam
The Registered Parliamentarian (RP) credential and the Professional Registered Parliamentarian (PRP) credential are related stepping stones within the same association, but they are assessed differently. The RP examination is a separate assessment, and its question count and cut score do not transfer to the PRP. In particular, do not import the RP's 100 multiple-choice questions or its 80% cut score into your PRP planning. The PRP's published format is a performance-based simulation, and no equivalent numeric standard has been disclosed for it.
This distinction matters because it changes how you prepare. A candidate studying for a percentage-based test drills practice questions and tracks a running score. A PRP candidate needs to rehearse the actual tasks: drafting a meeting script, writing a parliamentary opinion, delivering a teaching segment, and alternating between presiding and advising. You can still use practice questions to reinforce procedural knowledge, and our PRP practice tests are designed for that purpose, but they sharpen knowledge rather than predict a pass or fail result.
| Feature | PRP (Professional Registered Parliamentarian) | What not to assume |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment style | Two-day meeting simulation with teaching, drafting, and examiner questions | A single multiple-choice test |
| Passing standard | Demonstrated competency; no numerical cut score disclosed | A percentage threshold |
| Question count | Not disclosed | 100 questions |
| Public pass rate | Not disclosed | Any quoted percentage |
| Reference use | Prepared scripts may be permitted; routine fluency without RONR expected | Fully open-book access |
Eligibility, Fees and Registration Mechanics
Before any passing standard applies to you, you have to qualify to sit the assessment. Per NAP's PRP page, eligibility requires NAP membership and RP certification held for at least one year before registration opens. The sources checked did not verify any additional degree requirement, experience-hour requirement, or reference requirement. For a full breakdown of who can apply, see our page on PRP requirements and eligibility.
- Exam fee: The current main-page fee is USD 600, and no separate member versus nonmember rate is published. Because membership is itself an eligibility requirement, the distinction is largely moot. See the PRP certification cost breakdown for the wider picture, including membership and study materials.
- Registration deadline: Register at least 75 days before the examination window.
- Cohort size: A simulation has no more than six candidates, so seats are limited.
Key Takeaway
Because a simulation holds no more than six candidates and registration closes at least 75 days ahead, treat the registration deadline as part of your preparation timeline, not an afterthought. Missing it costs you an entire window.
The Schedule and Fee Discrepancy to Watch
When you look up the next assessment, you will find conflicting information that you should not silently reconcile. The main PRP page lists February 20-21, 2027. The linked event listing for the virtual PRP credentialing exam, however, retains January 16-17, 2027, and shows a registration fee of TBA. The USD 600 figure comes from the main PRP page and has not been confirmed as an event-specific quote.
The sensible response is to confirm directly with NAP before you commit to a plan or a payment. Verify the exact dates, the fee that applies to your chosen window, and whether the 75-day registration cutoff is measured against the first day of that window. For scheduling mechanics generally, see our overview of PRP exam dates and deadlines.
Preparing for a Competency-Based Outcome
Since there is no cut score to aim for, your goal is to remove weaknesses across the eight domains and to rehearse the actual deliverables. If you build a schedule, tie each phase to a domain and to the deliverable it feeds, rather than to a generic study calendar. The example below assumes you register at the earliest sensible point and have the 75-day minimum plus buffer to work with.
Governing Documents and Motions
- Work Domain 2 first, because the governing documents arrive for advance review and shape everything else
- Drill Domain 1 motions until handling them no longer requires opening RONR
Script and Opinions
- Draft a full meeting script for a sample organization (Domain 3)
- Write several parliamentary opinions and have a peer critique them (Domains 2 and 7)
Teaching and Elections
- Build and time a 30-minute presentation (Domain 4)
- Rehearse nominations, elections, and voting scenarios (Domain 8)
Professional Practice and Full Run-Throughs
- Review ethics, business practice, and governance (Domains 5 and 6)
- Alternate presiding and advising roles with a partner to simulate the rotation
For a more complete resource list and sequencing advice, our PRP study guide covers how to use RONR, 12th edition, and other references, and our PRP cheat sheet condenses the key facts for last-minute review. Keep in mind that paid reference books were not accessed in preparing this article, so confirm any recommended texts with NAP.
After You Pass: Renewal and Good Standing
Passing is not the end of the credential's requirements. From the 2026-2027 cycle, renewal requires 30 hours of continuing education credits every two years, including three Professional Responsibility hours, plus a certification statement in the last year of the cycle. Membership dues and good standing must also be maintained. According to NAP's FAQ, compliant members maintain their credential rather than automatically losing it every two years, and older six-year renewal descriptions are superseded.
If you are weighing whether the investment of time, fees, and ongoing continuing education is justified, our analyses of whether the PRP certification is worth it and PRP-related jobs can help you think through the career side of the decision.
Frequently Asked Questions
No numerical passing score is disclosed in the NAP sources reviewed. The PRP is a two-day meeting simulation, and passing depends on demonstrated competency rather than a published percentage or scaled score.
No. The 100-question, 80% cut score belongs to a different credential assessment and should not be applied to the PRP. The PRP uses a performance-based simulation with no disclosed numeric cut score.
A fixed question count is not disclosed. The assessment includes examiner questions, a teaching presentation, drafting tasks, and role rotations, rather than a set number of scored test items.
Examiners may request follow-up work, but they are not required to offer it before an unsuccessful outcome. Do not count on a chance to correct mistakes within the same assessment.
Prepared scripts may be permitted, but routine procedural fluency without consulting RONR is expected. The assessment is not unrestricted open-book. Confirm the exact reference rules with NAP before your window.
The current main-page fee is USD 600, with no separate member or nonmember rate published. The event listing shows a TBA fee, so confirm the amount for your specific window with NAP before paying.